

For Immediate Release

## FIVE MALAYSIANS APPOINTED AS INTERNATIONAL SCIENCE COUNCIL FELLOWS 2023

**KUALA LUMPUR, 20 December 2023** – Five Malaysians have received the highest honour after being conferred Fellowship by the International Science Council (ISC) for 2023. They are among 100 new ISC Fellows globally who are established scientists and thought-leaders from research and science-policy spheres who have significantly contributed to furthering understanding, use and engagement of science for the global public good. They are:

- 1. Academician Distinguished Professor Datuk Dr Looi Lai Meng FASc
- 2. Academician Professor Datin Paduka Dr Khatijah Yusoff FASc
- 3. Professor Emerita Datuk Dr Asma Ismail FASc
- 4. Datuk Dr Awg Bulgiba Awg Mahmud FASc
- 5. Professor Dr Ramesh T. Subramaniam FASc

Two of the five individuals are Senior Fellows (with Academician titles), and the remaining three are Fellows of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia (ASM). ASM is the nation's Thought Leader for matters related to science, technology, innovation and economy (STIE). The Academy's network of experts currently stands at 1,000 individuals across eight scientific disciplines. The participation and contribution of ASM experts in the global science and technology arena position them in various strategic platforms to increase Malaysia's visibility. At the same time, the experts can enhance their experience and expertise through a wider network.

ASM President, Academician Datuk Dr Tengku Mohd Azzman Shariffadeen FASc said, "The acknowledgement by ISC underscores the invaluable contributions and capabilities of our esteemed expert network, further solidifying our position on the global stage. One of ASM's missions is to be a Thought Leader in STIE, nationally and internationally. The affirmation by ISC proved to be a testament of achievement and an inspiration to strive for greater milestones in pursuing scientific excellence."



ACADEMY OF SCIENCES MALAYSIA Think Science. Celebrate Technology. Inspire Innovation. MEDIA RELEASE

Academician Distinguished Professor Datuk Dr Looi Lai Meng FASc is one of the 50 Founding Fellows of ASM in 1995. She was honoured as the inaugural "Profesor Ulung Negara" by the Ministry of Higher Education in December 2010, becoming the first medical scientist and woman to hold this honour. She received the Merdeka Award (Health, Science and Technology Category) in 2016. Among the international recognitions she has been conferred are the award of Distinguished Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia in 2010 and the Gold-Headed Cane from the World Association of Societies of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine in 2015.

Academician Professor Datin Paduka Dr Khatijah Yusoff FASc is a Senior Fellow of ASM. She is the Vice-President of the Islamic World Academy of Sciences (IAS) and a member of the Council of Scientific Advisors of the International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB). She has played an instrumental role at UPM, having served as the former dean of the Faculty of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences. In 2005, she became the second Asian scientist accorded UNESCO's Carlos Finlay Prize for Microbiology. She was also highlighted as one of the "Wonderful Women of the World" by DC Comics in 2021.

Professor Emerita Datuk Dr Asma Ismail FASc is the Immediate Past President of ASM. She was Malaysia's first female Director-General of Higher Education and the first female to be appointed as the Chairperson of the Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA). In 2022, she was conferred the "Tokoh Akademik Negara". Forbes Asia magazine named her among the Top 50 women over 50 in 2023 from Asia-Pacific who are reaching new heights in their industries and inspiring the region's next generation. She was elected as an Honorary Member of the Iranian Academy of Medical Sciences in 2017 and currently holds the Ibnu Sina Chair for Medicine at the International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM).

The first Malaysian doctor to gain a PhD in Health Informatics, Datuk Dr Awg Bulgiba Awg Mahmud FASc, was the Secretary-General of ASM from 2019 to 2023. He led the creation of the National Policy for Science, Technology and Innovation 2021-2030 and chaired the national Independent COVID-19 Vaccination Advisory Committee and the COVID-19 Epidemiological Analysis and Strategies Task Force. As Deputy Vice-Chancellor in two portfolios (Academic and International and Research and Innovation) at Universiti Malaya, he charted strategies, making



UM Malaysia's top research university and the only Malaysian university in the QS Top 100 World University Rankings.

Professor Dr Ramesh T. Subramaniam FASc, ASM Fellow elected in 2016, is a material scientist experienced in preparing, developing, and characterising polymers and polymer electrolytes as a source of energy for various electrochemical devices. In 2016, he was honoured with the prestigious "International Association of Advanced Materials Scientist Medal (IAAM Scientist Medal)" for his notable and outstanding contribution to Advanced Materials Science and Technology. In 2020, he was recognised and placed as one of the World's Top 2% Scientists for Career-Long Citation Impact by Stanford University.

In June 2022, the ISC announced the creation of a Fellowship and appointment of 66 Foundation Fellows, including ASM Senior Fellow Academician Emeritus Professor Tan Sri Dr Zakri Abdul Hamid FASc. The ISC has a growing global membership with a unique global membership that brings together 45 international scientific Unions and Associations, over 140 national and regional scientific organisations, including Academies and Research Councils, 60 international Federations and Societies, and Young Academies and Associations.

For more information about the ASM Expert Networks list, visit <u>https://www.akademisains.gov.my/</u>. For the full list of the 2023 Fellows by ISC, read <u>here</u>.

END



For more information, please contact: Najib Mohd Idris Sr. Executive Communications +60193037847 najib@akademisains.gov.my

## Syakirah Nurizzati Mohamad Hood

Communications Executive +60176780925 syakirah.nurizzati@akademisains.gov.my

## Siti Sarah Abd Rahman

Communications Executive +601111425446 siti.sarah@akademisains.gov.my

## About the Academy of Sciences Malaysia

ASM is an independent scientific organisation under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI). ASM is the national thought leader in matters related to science, technology, innovation and economy. We provide a platform to exchange ideas among academics, policymakers, civil society and industry.

ASM currently have 1,000 experts in Engineering Sciences, Medical and Health Sciences, Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Information Technology & Computer Science, Chemical Sciences, Mathematics, Physics and Earth Sciences, Science & Technology Development and Industry, and Social Sciences and Humanities.

Our main activities include conducting strategic and feasibility studies and leading strategic science-based programs at the national, regional and global levels. Our ethos is "Think Science, Celebrate Technology, Inspire Innovation".