Skip to main content

Malaysia Bags Two Major Asean Science Awards

By 2014-08-25Mac 10th, 2017No Comments


25 AUGUST 2014, BOGOR – Two Malaysian scientists won both categories of the triennial prestigious ASEAN Science and Technology awards at the 9th ASEAN Science and Technology Week in Bogor, Indonesia from 18th to 27th August 2014.

The Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Datuk Dr. Ewon Ebin stated the success of the two Malaysian scientists demonstrates that Malaysia’s capability and strength through sustained and inspired efforts in the areas of Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) have continuously received international recognition.

In addition, the Minister mentioned that Malaysia is focused on ensuring that we achieve our goals towards the enhancement of societal well-being through science and technology cooperation and STI awareness in particular, with ASEAN Member States. This success signifies our investment in R&D has now yielded positive outcomes.

Associate Professor Ir. Dr. Sharifah Rafidah Wan Alwi of Department of Chemical Engineering, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) won the ASEAN Young Scientist and Technologist (AYSTA) whilst Professor Dr. Harith Ahmad from Department of Physics, Universiti Malaya won the ASEAN Outstanding Scientist and Technologist Award (AOSTA). Both winners take home USD10,000 and USD15,000 respectively. Professor Dr. Harith was also a recipient of Merdeka Award in 2010 for his contribution in research on photonics.

“I hope that this award will help inspire other Malaysian scientists and researchers to reach their fullest potential in their pursuit of scientific and technological excellence,” said Datuk Dr. Ewon.

Since both the awards were won by our scientists, Datuk Dr. Ewon was given the honour to present the awards to the recipients in conjunction with the 8th Informal ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Science and Technology.

The ASEAN Science and Technology Awards aims to encourage and promote excellence amongst ASEAN scientists and technologists as well as to strengthen STI cooperation amongst Member States.

ASEAN Young Scientist and Technologist Award is presented to scientist or technologist who has shown considerable promise, or made substantial contribution to research, development and innovation in ASEAN region, whilst  the ASEAN Outstanding Scientist and Technologist Award is presented to scientist or technologist for outstanding contributions in the scientific and technological field at the national and international level.

Prof. Tan Sri Zakri Abdul Hamid, Science Advisor to the Prime Minister was a country nominee and recipient of the ASEAN Meritorious Service Award to be given to one member states recipient.

Skip to content