Skip to main content

ASEAN S&T Meetings Kicks Off Today

By 2013-11-09Disember 14th, 2020No Comments



KUALA LUMPUR, 9 NOVEMBER 2013 – Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation Malaysia, YB Datuk Dr Ewon Ebin today officiated the opening of the 66th  Meeting of ASEAN Committee on Science and Technology (ASEAN COST) in a brief but meaningful ceremony held in Kuala Lumpur this morning.

The ceremony also witnessed the handing over of ASEAN COST Chairmanship from Brunei Darussalam COST Chair, YBhg Dato Paduka Haji Suhaimi Haji Gafar to YBhg. Dato’ Dr Rosli Mohamed, Malaysia National COST Chair and Secretary General of MOSTI.  The event was attended by senior officials from all ten ASEAN member countries as well as members of the diplomatic corps.

In his opening speech, YB Datuk Dr Ewon stressed the importance of boosting support and cooperation among ASEAN member states especially when ASEAN is gearing to become a single community come 2015.

He added, “Among member states, our economies are progressively becoming more integrated as we prepare ourselves to become a single seamless market that would serve as a global production base. ASEAN has both the necessity and the potential to become more than what it is today.

We are getting nearer and nearer to our ideal goal to have an ASEAN Community. In line with the theme for ASEAN 2013 “Our People, Our Future Together,” ASEAN COST is moving along the right path in promoting and supporting Science, Technology and Innovation among ASEAN member states.“

Starting today, senior ASEAN COST officials will meet for two days with focus on drawing up the new ASEAN Plan of Action on Science, Technology and Innovation (APASTI) for 2015-2020.  They will also review the financial mechanisms to support the implementation of STI-driven grand challenge projects.

Dialogue partners China, Japan, Korea, India and Russia will also part in the regional meetings with ASEAN COST.

Prior to the ASEAN COST meeting, the Advisory bodies on the ASEAN Plan of Action on Science and Technology (ABAPAST) and ASEAN Science Fund (ABASF) as well as the Sub-Committee on Resource, Industry and Development (SCRID) conducted their meetings from 7-8 November 2013.

YB Datuk Dr Ewon Ebin will chair the 15th Meeting of the ASEAN S&T Ministers (15th AMMST) scheduled for next week on 12 November 2013. The ministers are expected to discuss on the way forward in the implementation of STI under APASTI as well as share country experience in the enculturation of science, technology and innovation in the ASEAN region.  The ASEAN ministers have also agreed to take time off from their busy schedules to attend the Wold Innovation Forum 2013 (WIF-KL) which starts on 13 November 2013.

Skip to content