Skip to main content


By 2012-10-21Mac 10th, 2017No Comments


Kuala Lumpur, 21st October 2012 – The Grand Finals of the RHB-The Star Mighty Minds National Challenge was graced by Dato’ Dr. Sharifah Zarah Syed Ismail, Deputy Secretary General (Policy & Innovation) Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI) who represented MOSTI’s Minister YB Datuk Seri Panglima Dr Maximus Ongkili at Cititel Hotel, Mid Valley, Kuala Lumpur here today. Also present were Datuk Seri Wong Chun Wai, Executive Director & Group Chief Editor of The Star and Kelle Kam Chee Khiong, Group Managing Director of RHB Banking Group.
The competition, which entered its fourth year, aims to promote innovation, creativity and business acumen skills among the young via challenges that incorporate multiple choice question, oral presentation and buzzer quiz.
The competition preliminaries took place from 3rd March to 14th July in 14 states throughout Malaysia, with 5,646 students in 1,882 teams from 28 schools signing up. Into its fourth year, the competition continued to showcase and test student’s skills, knowledge and ability to put theory into practice.
The Mighty Minds Grand Final saw 28 teams in two categories (Lower and Upper Secondary) battle it out for the top 5 placing. The finalists were tested in the quiz rounds and the hands-on challenges. The top 5 teams in each category were selected based on the accumulated scores from the quiz and the hands-on challenges, and will then be given the opportunity to give a 5-minute oral presentation on the hands-on challenge.
At the Grand Final the Model Innovation went to Kolej Yayasan Saad Melaka followed by SMK Damansara Jaya and SMK Perlis for Lower Secondary category. For the Upper Secondary category, the winner was SM Lodge National School, SMK Padang Negara second and third place SMK Bukit Jambul.
The winner of the National Challenge Winners RM 10,000 cash, RM 200 book voucher per individual and a trip to Dublin was Kolej Yayasan Saad, Melaka in the Lower Secondary category and SM Lodge National School for Upper Secondary.
Skip to content